Log in

Defense Association
of New York

Log in

Awards Dinners

DANY's Annual Awards Banquet - May 10, 2018

Thank you members, guests and sponsors for attending this annual event, which was held at the New York Marriott Downtown, 85 West Street, New York, New York. This event honored Hon. Michael J. Garcia, Associate Judge, NY Court of Appeals;  Hon. Adam Silvera, Justice, NY Supreme Court, New York County;  Hon. Martin Schoenfeld, Justice, NY Supreme Court, Appellate Term, First Department (Ret.);  and Patricia Zincke, Esq., retired DANY officer.  Additionally, there was a one hour CLE starting in the new CLE category of Diversity, Inclusion and Elimination of Bias.  The course is titled “Taming the Elephant in the Courtroom - Strategies for female lawyers and their supporters to identify, defuse and combat bias in the courtroom and in the boardroom.”  The presenters:
  • Claire F. Rush of Rush & Sabbatino, PLLC  (Moderator)
  • Suzanne M. Halbardier – Barry McTiernan & Moore LLC
  • Andrea Alonso – Morris, Duffy Alonso & Faley
  • Margaret G. Klein - Law Offices of Margaret G. Klein & Associates – Attorney of Record for GNY
  • Karen Campbell – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
  • Doris Rios Duffy - Kowalski & DeVito – AIG Staff Counsel
  • Moya O'Connor  -  MetLife

Here are two photographs from this fine occasion.  Additional photographs will follow.

DANY's Annual Awards Banquet - April 25, 2017

Thank you members, guests and sponsors for attending this annual event --  an event recap and photographs are forthcoming.

2016 Spring Awards Dinner - May 16, 2016

Celebrating 50 Years of Service

Thank you for having attended this historic event!  Congratulations to the acclaimed award recipients:

Charles C. Pinckney Award: The Honorable Sheila Abdus-Salaam -  Associate Judge, New York State Court of Appeals

Distinguished State Jurist Award: The Honorable Lawrence Knipel -  Administrative Judge for Civil Matters, Second Judicial District 

Distinguished Federal Jurist Award: The Honorable John Gleeson (Ret.) -  U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York

James S. Conway Award: Thomas J. Maroney -  Partner, Maroney O'Connor;  DANY President 2008 - 2009

DANY also expresses its gratitude for the CLE on Civility and Ethics by Steven Dyki, Esq., Henry Miller, Esq., and Richard J. O'Keeffe, Esq.  Please continue to join DANY in celebrating its 50 year history throughout this year of 2016.

DANY President Margaret G. Klein, at left, with the "Golden Honorees" having 40 or more years of contributions to DANY and the New York defense bar.

If you are interested in additional photographs of present or past, there are more to be seen:

Link to 2016 "Pinckney" event photos:  click here

DANY thanks Patrick Brophy Photography for providing these fine images

Link to historical DANY event photos:  click here

See also the classic photographs contained within the "Defendant" journals
which are accessible via the "Publications" page on this web site.

2015 Spring Awards Dinner - April 23, 2015

Awards and Recipients:

Charles C. Pinckney Award: The Honorable Jenny Rivera -  Associate Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals

Education and Literary Award: The Honorable Ariel E. Belen (Ret.) -  Associate Justice, Appellate Division, Second Department, 2008 - 2012;  Now Mediator and Arbitrator at JAMS

James S. Conway Achievement Award: Kevin J. Kelly, Esq. -  Partner, Conway, Farrell, Curtin & Kelly P.C.

Public Service Award: Rabbi Joseph Potasnik -  Rabbi Emeritus, Congregation Mount Sinai



Charles C. Pinckney Award - February 1998

Pinckney Award Dinner - April 1993

Defense Association of New York
Bowling Green Station, P.O. Box 950, New York, NY 10274-0950

Phone: 212-313-3657

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software